The Cake that made me Famous

If you haven’t already, subscribe. These guys are AWESOME.

I am famous. If you want, you can touch my hand. See? Now you can be a little famous too.

I’m famous because this happened. (at 0:25)

Yep that half-second blip that they so beautifully serenaded you with was my creation. See? Famous. I’m waiting for a record deal…or something.

Why would I do something like this? Why go to all the trouble of making, photographing and posting a picture of a cake, with only a shadow of a chance of making it on a show I watch and admire?

Because it’s AWESOME!!

And, it’s not like I’m doing something terribly different from posting on my own blog. I’m just posting in hopes of that tiny frame of a YouTube video of fame. So, call me an attention whore.

I’m a freaking fabulous attention whore.

Anywho, the cake. It was a basic yellow cake recipe from here, flavored with orange extract. Nothing special. I would like to mention, however, that although this cake was pretty good (um…breakfast, dinner, dessert and midnight snack? What?! I work out!), I’d like to fiddle around with the recipe a bit to get it to that perfectly spongy, moist, UNcrumbly, squishy yellow buttery goodness. I’ll keep you posted. In the meantime, here is another yellow cake recipe I’d like to try…you know, after I fiddle. That way, if the fiddling fails, I can eat my sorrows with this.

Ingredients

1 1/2 cups Flour

3/4 cup Sugar

2 teaspoons Baking powder

1/2 teaspoon Salt

1 stick Butter, at room temperature

1/2 cup Sour Cream

2 Eggs

1 teaspoon Orange extract

1 teaspoon Vanilla extract

1 can Vanilla frosting (there are times, friend, that one must succumb to primal urges and convenience)

1 can Chocolate frosting

1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees, and spray two 8″x 2″ round cake pans

2. Whisk together the flour, sugar, salt and baking powder in the bowl of a standing mixer

3.  Beat in the softened butter until the mixture looks sandy (2-3 minutes)

4. In a separate vessel, whisk together the sour cream, eggs and extracts

5. Add the wet to the dry all at once and beat just to incorporate (no lumps…you’ll have some leeway here because the fat is already coating the flour, preventing the development of gluten)

6. Divide amongst the pans and bake for about 20 minutes, or until springy to the touch.

7. Allow cakes to cool completely before frosting.

8. Frost as you wish. I put the chocolate in my mouth and frosted the cake with the vanilla, then ate the rest with a spoon.

De. Molished.

2 thoughts on “The Cake that made me Famous

Leave a Reply

