A Quest! For Pancakes. Anyone got coconut halves?

Blueberry Buttermilk Pancakes

"You're mother was a shrew, and your father smelled of elderberries"-Monty Python

You wouldn’t know by just looking at them; but these pancakes are the culmination of weeks of searching, experimenting, frustration, and stress (Yes. Pancakes are among the leading causes of stress in the foodie community. Pancakes and pie crust *shudder*). And then I found Martha Stewart’s recipe. And cried. In profound relief and in comparable anguish. Why didn’t I trust the reviews? Why did I let my contempt for everything Martha to cloud my judgement?! Ugh! I’m sure there are better recipes out there, but at this point, I couldn’t compare another recipe. I got to the point where I was seeing buttermilk ratios in my dreams (muddled with the facts of this one property case involving the ownership of a baseball. Yes. A baseball.); it was…strange. Besides, most pancake recipes that I’ve seen are more or less, or exactly the same ratios in Stewart’s.

Why do I have a problem with she and her empire? Call me a hipster. Or because I have a soul. I had the opportunity to work in her test kitchen while in New York, where I necessarily was subjected to the irate rantings of her underlings. Never had I seen so much hate in one person while making Whoopie pies. Whoopie pies! Who could be disgruntled when they’re making Whoopie pies? Martha Stewart’s employee. That’s who. (*disclaimer* I’ve never met the woman, so I can’t say first hand…but I don’t approve of her previous run-in with the law. And the stories, if true, didn’t paint a prettier picture)

But I digress. Her buttermilk pancakes are awesome. I did make a couple of changes to make them healthier: whole wheat, less butter. And I tweaked the method: whip the egg whites. These buggers are fluffy, moist and slightly chewy. Best. Combination. Ever. I’ve had SUPER fluffy pancakes, but they tend to be a little dry and dense. The addition of blueberries provides little explosions of yum and tart-sweetness.

Makes Four 5-6″ pancakes

Ingredients

1/2 cup Whole wheat flour"It's so FLUFFY!!"

1/2 cup All purpose flour

1 teaspoon Baking powder

1/2 teaspoon Baking soda

1/4 teaspoon Salt

1 tablespoon Sugar

1 egg, Separated

1 teaspoon Vanilla

1 1/2 cups Buttermilk (low-fat is fine)

1 tablespoon Yogurt-based margarine, melted (I used Brummel and Brown)

1/2 tablespoon Butter, melted

Blueberries. Lots of em’.Tiny explosions of joy

 

 

 

 

1. In a bowl, combine dry ingredients.

2. In another bowl (or measuring cup), combine buttermilk, egg yolk and vanilla

3. In yet another bowl (I never said this was a one-bowl deal. You want fantastic pancakes? You have to make sacrifices.) whisk egg white until stiff, but not dry-if it starts to look lumpy, or curdley (it’s a word, now) you’ve gone too far.

4. Pre-heat the pan to medium heat and have non-stick spray on hand

5. Combine the wet and dry gently…GENTLY! Lumps are goooood. They translate to fluff.

6. Fold in egg white (the whole thing at once to prevent over-mixing)

7. Spray the pre-heated pan, plop in about 1/3 of a cup of batter and add blueberries to your discretion.

8. Flip only once. Hey. Hey! Step awaaay from the pan. You flip that golden disk of leavened goodness too much, and you lose the fluff. And you never want to lose the fluff. Do you? Thought so.

9. Eat now. They can be kept warm, but why be masochistic? Legit maple syrup (grade B has a more robust…robust…RO-bust. Hmm. What a fantastic word…uh, flavor) and European (higher butter fat) butter completely negate the low-fat buttermilk and lesser butter in the recipe. But, hey. It’s all about balance, right?

Good.

Better.

Best. (psst. That’s because now their in my mouth.)

 

Leave a Reply

