Pikelets! They just sound happy.

Blueberry and Brown Sugar Cream Pikelet

Yum and Sunshine

Remember that quest I undertook for the perfect pancake recipe? Well I got sidetracked. By the Wiki. And inadvertently became a historian of sorts…about pancakes. Hey. It’s not like honing researching skills is a waste of time; and if I become an expert in something completely irrelevant to my field of study…well. I like to think that makes me all the more interesting. Right? RIGHT?!

The respective cultural histories of pancakes are actually quite fascinating. I feel if I pursued that intro to Anthropology class back in undergrad, I would have done my thesis on pancakes around the world and their impact on society….What? Hey. People have gone to war over less delicious things. Like oil. Yuck.

Among the types I found, was something called a “pikelet”. In Whales, it was like a cross between a crepe and an American pancake (by the way, looking at English food blogs that have recipes for “the fluffiest American pancakes ever” is hilarious. We ‘Muricans sure are well-known for our pancakes. I feel proud.). In New Zealand, the pikelet was more like an American pancake. Since I’d never heard of a “fluffy crepe”, I took that concept and rolled with it. Also because I hate waiting the traditional 30 minutes for the crepe batter to “rest”. Why does it need to “rest”? It wasn’t exerting itself or anything. Those French…always “Le tired”…and taking “le naps”. Was that awful? Nevermind.

So. Result? Fluffier crepe-type things that are filled with stuff.

Makes 3-4 10-inch crepes. Maybe. Depends on how many times you screw up.

Ingredients

Pikelets

1/4 cup Whole wheat flour

1 teaspoon Sugar

Pinch of salt

1/4 teaspoon Baking Soda

1 Egg, beaten

1/2 teaspoon Vanilla extract

About 1/2 cup milk (I use half buttermilk and half almond milk)–enough to make the batter the consistency of…well, buttermilk. You need to be able to swirl it around in the pan.

Stuff # 1 Blueberry and Brown Sugar Pastry Cream

1/3 cup Blueberries (fresh, please)

1 teaspoon Sugar

1/2 cup Almond milk

Dash of Salt

1 1/2 tablespoons Brown sugar

1 1/2 teaspoons Cornstarch

1 tablespoon Cream cheese, softened

Stuff # 2 Cinnamon Apple and Oatmeal

1/3 cup Chunky applesauce (I made mine meself. This is my smug face–>  :-] )

Pinch of Cinnamon

2 tablspoons Oatmeal

Dash of Salt

3 tablespoons Almond milk

1 tablespoon sugar

1. In a small bowl, combine the flour, baking soda, salt and sugar. In another small bowl or measuring cup, beat the egg and add vanilla. Set aside.

2. For the blueberry filling, in a small microwave-safe bowl (I used one of my handy 4″ ramekins), combine blueberries and sugar. Blast on high for 30-45 seconds, or until the blueberries pop and start bleeding. (Jeez. Cooking is violent: beating eggs, bleeding blueberries, bruising herbs…this actually explains a lot…)

3. For the brown sugar pastry cream, in another small microwaveable bowl, combine almond milk and sugar, and whisk to dissolve. Add cornstarch and salt, whisk some more and nuke on high at 20-second intervals. KEEP AN EYE on this one. It likes to boil over and burn your fingers when you try to wipe it up. Not very nice.

4. For the apple cinnamon filling, combine applesauce, cinnamon and bit of sugar if you please in yet another small microwaveable bowl. This you only need to warm if you want. If you prefer cold apple-pie-like filling, that’s your prerogative.

5. For the oatmeal filling, combine oatmeal, salt, sugar and almond milk in, yes, another microwaveable bowl. Microwave on high in 20-second intervals. This likes to boil over too. Suffice it to say, I had tender fingers and a very sticky microwave afterward. But the pikelets were worth it. (You’re a foodie if….)

Apple Cinnamon and Oatmeal Filling

6. For the pikelets, Pre-heat a small frying pan on medium heat. Make a well in the center of the dry ingredients and add egg and vanilla. Start mixing, adding your creamy liquid of choice until you reach instructed consistency (not desired consistency. You may desire it to be thicker. But you can’t have it. So there.)

7. Spray the pan and wipe up excess oil.

8. Pour about 1/4 cup of the batter into the pan and immediately swirl around to coat the bottom (and sides, depending on the size of your pan).

9. When the batter loses its sheen, coax the edges of the pikelet with an implement, or your fingers (CAREFULLY!! I am convinced I’ve damaged much of the nerve endings in my fingers due to burns, so I don’t feel pain. Hooah.), and delicately flip it. Allow the pikelet to cook on this side, only for maybe 20-30 seconds.

10. Continue to bang em’ out, and fill em’ up when they’re done. Like delicious Wales-style burritos filled with yum and sunshine.

Apple Cinnamon and Oatmeal Pikelet

2 thoughts on “Pikelets! They just sound happy.

  1. Drool drool drool. I can’t read this at work. I’m too le hungry and le tired.

    You should get a masters in pancakes. I’d love to read whatever your research turns up.

    • Ha! I get yelled at by classmates who see my browsing through other food blogs during class…I mean…whenever food blogs randomly appear on my screen during class because I’m being a good student and paying attention when the professor drones…I mean enlightens us about constitutional law. But yeah. Pancakes. They can change the world.

Leave a Reply

