Y U NO EAT BOTH? Oatmeal-Stuffed French Toast

1st issue: Can’t decide on whether to have french toast or oatmeal.

1st solution: Stuff the french toast with oatmeal.

2nd issue: Tired of regular, old french toast.

2nd solution: Stuff the french toast with oatmeal.

Ah. The first relevant practical application of the skills we learn in law school: persuasive, yet logical chain of reasoning that the reasonable person just can’t help but agree with. I mean, really. Who says “no” to breakfast stuffed with breakfast? Right. That’s what I thought.

So, the conundrum came on the way home after Friday’s morning class. After class, the most important and (admittedly) often most stressful decision I make is what to eat for breakfast. Hey. I’m hungry, and for me, waiting for the good stuff is so much more gratifying than grabbing a bloody granola bar on the way out. Additionally, there the fact that it’s Friday, and of course Friday is the weekly day of celebration. So, the decision necessitates serious deliberation.

I was caught between wanting something comforting, soft and porridgey, and something toothsome, crispy and creamy. I was stuck on the presumption that I could only have one. Then, I thought, wait. Why only one? Am I not good enough for myself? Am I the Fall Roll? Dammit! I deserve soft, porridgey, toothsome, crispy and creamy goodness ALL AT THE SAME TIME. I work hard! I pay my dues! I go exactly 15 miles per hour in school zones!! Yes. All of this justifies oatmeal-stuffed french toast.  Aren’t I the one usually advocating breakfasting freedom? Yes. Yes I am.

Makes 1 serving

Ingredients

1 Egg, beaten

1/2 cup Milk

Pinch of Salt

1/2 teaspoon Vanilla

2 slices of Bread

1 tablespoon Cream cheese

1 1/2 tablespoons Oats

1 tablespoon Maple syrup

1-2 tablespoons water

Pinch of salt #2

1. Preheat the oven to 375 (convection if you have it). Combine the beaten egg, milk, salt and vanilla in a dish that will accommodate the dipping of the bread

2. Preheat pan to medium-high. Combine the oats, salt, maple syrup and 1 tablespoon of the water and microwave for about 1 minute on high (until oats have absorbed the liquid and have softened and become gooey)

3. If the oats are too dry, add more water. The objective here, is to make it spreadable.

4. Schmear the cream cheese on a slice of bread, then with the oatmeal. Add to your discretion: just know that difficulty of flippage goes up the more you stuff it.

5. Spray the pan and fry up the goodness. About 30 seconds-1 minute per side (until you reach a golden-brown wonderful)

 

6. Pop it (what does “pop” mean?) in the oven on a cookie rack-on-a-sheet pan for 10-12 minutes, or until puffed and browned.

7. No further instructions. Just eat it.

2 thoughts on “Y U NO EAT BOTH? Oatmeal-Stuffed French Toast

  1. Nice! I hadn’t thought to try doing it this way. I just made ft and oatmeal separately and then smeared one on the other. Maybe I will try baking it next time.

Leave a Reply

