Kamikaze Strawberries Tell me to Bake them into Muffins.

Selfish? ME? Because I didn’t want to use the blueberries I bought and use in my salad everyday for the muffins I promised to make for classmates? Nah. Not selfish. Just lazy. Hey! I’m already making these things, and I’m expected to drive to the store to pick up more ingredients? Hurumpf. Besides, I had some perfectly succulent strawberries begging to be baked in just such a good. Begging. That’s right, I practically heard them, with their squeaky little seedy voices, spewing sugary promises of sweet summery nothings. What are “nothings”? Anyway, they spoke to me. So I obeyed.

I’d been wanting to try out a recipe circulating the net, for “Blueberry Muffins to Die For“. These turned out pretty good. For those who favor a more cake-like consistency, they are delectable. Tender, moist and a fine crumb, punctuated with chunks of fresh strawberries, and offset with a buttery, crispy streusels topping. I, personally like my muffins with a bit more…muchness. Like Alice. I like my muffins to hold together enough for me to actually chew them, rather than having them melt in my mouth. How the hell else am I supposed to schmear them with butter?!

These muffins, though, need no butter. Just a big ole glass of milk, and maybe a little extra strawberry jam. Mmm. Jam. As for the muchier muffins? I continue my experimentation and hope to have just such a muffin for your grumbly tummies soon.

Makes 10-12 muffins, depending on how big you want them

Ingredients

1 1/2 cups Flour

3/4 cup Sugar

1/2 teaspoon Salt

2 teaspoons Baking powder

1/3 cup Oil

1 Egg

1/3 cup Milk

1 teaspoon Vanilla

1 cup diced Strawberries

Streusels Topping

1/2 cup Sugar

1/3 cup Flour

1/4 cup Butter, cold and cubed

Pinch of Salt

This tin liner cup has been in the family for decades. We just keep buying new liners and using the same cup. Is that weird?

1. Preheat the oven to 400 degrees and line a muffin tin with liner of choice.

2. Combine the dry ingredients in one large bowl and whisk to incorporate.

3. Combine the wet ingredients in another smaller bowl and whisk to incorporate.

4. Prepare the struesels topping by rubbing with your fingertips, or cutting with a fork or pastry cutter, the butter into the flour, sugar and salt until there is no more dry flour.

5. Add the wet ingredients to the dry and begin to fold.

6. Before all of the flour is incorporate, add the strawberries and foldjustuntil the flour is fully incorporated (i.e. no more flour streaks. This is not the seventies. Streaking is less appropriate. Lumps, however, are okay. In fact, lumps are good.)

7. Using an ice cream scoop (about 2 ounces), or a spoon…or your hands…portion the batter into the muffin tins. If you want the nice “bakery-style” muffin domes, go ahead and fill the batter to the top of the tin. You’ll end up with fewer muffins, but the ones you do have will me fat. And happy. Always a good combination.

8. Top each muffin with struesel and bake for 15-20 minutes, or until browned, fragrant and domed.

3 thoughts on “Kamikaze Strawberries Tell me to Bake them into Muffins.

  1. Streusels!! Ah! I loooove streusel, but I’ve never been able to make streusel-top muffins at home…they’re never as good as those crumbly pre-wrapped ones…

    Also, I have a dumb newbie question for you: how did you get a little picture up there on your URL? I’ve read articles on it but haven’t been able to get it to work…

    • I have a little picture up there on my URL? Obviously, I am not the person to ask such awful complicated questions. I, honestly have no idea. As to the streusels (dictionary.com says it is indeed “streusels”), I think the more flour-to-butter-and-sugar-ratio results in a more substantial crumb. I followed the recipe on All Recipes to a T, and the streusels came out more crispy than anything. If I were to remake these muffins, I’d switch to half butter, half oil in the actual muffin, and add more flour to the streusels.

Leave a Reply

