Nonsequitor Orange Fennel Salad

Dear procrastination, I don’t know why everyone seems to think you’re such a bad thing. You keep us relaxed, give us a never-ending litany of excuses, tell us “it’s okay to be you and not work right now. You can do it tomorrow. You can do it tomorrow. You can do it tomorrow. You can do it tomorrow.”, and cause us to unwittingly jump into crazy-pants mode and get ‘er done. And, then once we actually do what we needed to do? We feel SO accomplished that we treat ourselves to mini Guinesses and chocolate cake. Well, procrastination, I object to the disdainful treatment and embrace you for who you are! Be proud, dear one, for you are what makes the world go round.

Well, procrastination and caffeine. Wait. I had a point here. A relevant one.

So I have this fancy-pants camera. Which has a rechargeable battery. Which ran out of juice two weeks ago. Yes: procrastination. Instead of rummaging through the camera bag stowed away in a cabinet to find the recharger, I used my iPhone camera for two weeks. But after trying a new recipe for pancakes one day, I was inspired to be productive. And after I recharged that fancy-pants camera, I decided to celebrate its homecoming with a day outside and cliché photo opportunities.

Don’t worry, there’s a recipe in here among the geese and leaves. But enjoy the scenery as you go along. T’would be shame to miss the things that coalesce to make the world beautiful. But that’s why procrastination is there.

ORANGE FENNEL SALAD

1 tablespoon Sour cream

1 tablespoon Mayo

1 tablespoon Orange juice

1 tablespoon Buttermilk (or 2 teaspoons water + 1 teaspoon vinegar)

1 teaspoon Dijon mustard

1 teaspoon Honey

Pinch of ground Ginger

Pinch of Fenugreek

Salt and Pepper to taste

2 tablespoons sliced Fennel

1/2 of a Navel orange, segmented

2 tablespoons Sweet onion, sliced (or red onion)

2-3 Strawberries, sliced (or apple)

2 tablespoons Carrot, sliced

1 tablespoon Smoked gouda, shredded or tiny-cubed (cross between minced and diced…probably not a technical term.)

2 tablespoons sliced almond (for a little extra depth, toast the almonds in a dry pan over medium heat until golden and fragrant)

1/2 cup Romaine, shredded

1 cup Baby spinach

1. Combine the sour cream, mayo, juice, buttermilk, mustard, honey, spices, and salt and pepper in the bottom of a large bowl.

2. Throw everything else in and toss together gently.

3. For a protein kick, add shredded chicken, or grilled shrimp. Or scrambled egg, if you know, you’ve procrastinated on shopping.

2 thoughts on “Nonsequitor Orange Fennel Salad

  1. Hello!

    I have a request/question, however you wanna look at it, and for lack of a better place to post, I’m posting here. I love the ducks, they’re lovely.

    Anyway, a cooking phenomenon has come to my attention: when I buy a hotdog, whether it be a questionable one turning on a metal rack from the movie theater, or a baseball-bat-sized $26.00 Texas Rangers hot dog at the big game, or a delicious jumbo dog from Wild About Harry’s, they always have one thing in common: THEY’RE FREAKING DELICIOUS. But when I make a hotdog at home….sigh. It’s just…an okay hot dog.

    THERE MUST BE A WAY TO REPLICATE THE DELICIOUSNESS. Do…you know it?

    If so, I wait with bated breath for your response. 😀

    ~Rachel

    • I would look for all-beef dogs. I want to say that Nathan’s brand is served at a number of these places. I think that boiling them is the cooking method of choice, an of that’s the case, you can add flavorings to the cooking liquid. I don’t really eat hotdogs, but I bet boiling them in a beef stock or even beef boullion would add to the beefy goodness. “I don’t usually eat hot dogs…but when I do,” I like a crispy skin- so after boiling, throw it in a pan with a little oil or non-stick spray and cook till browned and crispy. Hope this helps. Sometimes there are secrets that must remain secrets, however, no matter how much we want, nay, NEED them…like Village Inn’s French silk pie. Damn them. DAMN THEM!!

      But uh… Yeah. Let me know how it pans out. (did you see that? That was a pun)

      Sent from my iPhone

Leave a Reply

