I can’t get this carrot grated….ah! Screw it! I shall kill EVERYONE!

Sunday is when I usually indulge in pancakes. Mostly because I don’t have time during the week, and because I make it a point to set aside little treats for myself on certain days so they seem less depressing. Note: Sunday is the most depressing day of the week because it’s a lie. “Sure, ” it says, “sleeeeep in. Take your time. You have aaaall the time in the world. Take a nap…stay up late. Andthengetupatsixoclockinthemorningbecauseit’sMONDAY!” I hate Sundays. More than I hate Mondays. Because at least Mondays are honest. Like law professors. (“You have NO idea what you’re talking about. Speak to me after class.”)

So, yes. Treats. One does not simply eat carrot cake for breakfast and not feel slightly guilty. Unless you’re me. For everyone else, there is a loophole: put it in a pancake. The idea was inspired by Smitten Kitchen’s carrot cake pancakes, but I adapted it, making it a little smaller and being impatient. Cool thing about these pancakes, though, is that even though they’re fully cooked,the carrots keep them that velvety consistency on the inside.

On Sunday morning, when I began the preparation, I figured I had a bag full of long, full-length, uncut, thick, long, full-length, long…carrots. And I did. Three of them. About the diameter of my pinky finger. But I did have an unopened bag of baby carrots. Of which, five were sacrificed before my hair started turning gray, and my fingers were bleeding. So, I used the next best thing: zucchini! The pancakes came out like a cross between a latke, pudding and a pancake. Ah. Mazing.

Especially when you put creamcheese-type stuff on top.

Makes about 5-6 4-inch cakes

Ingredients

1/2 cup Whole wheat flour

1/2 teaspoon Cinnamon

Pinch of Mace (or nutmeg. But be daring!)

Dash of Cloves

1 teaspoon Baking powder

1/2 teaspoon Baking soda

1/4 teaspoon Salt

1 tablespoon Brown sugar

1/2 cup finely shredded Carrot

1/2 cup finely-shredded Zucchini

1 egg

1/2 cup Buttermilk

1 teaspoon Vanilla

2 tablespoons Walnuts, chopped

2 tablespoons Golden raisins

1. Preheat a frying pan on medium heat.

2. Combine all of the dry ingredients (including raisins and walnuts), and whisk to break up the brown sugar, and otherwise incorporate.

3. Combine the shredded veggies, egg, buttermilk and vanilla.

4. Add the wet to the dry (this is going to be more like a quickbread batter…i.e. very thick) and fold to combine.

5. Fry em’ up like the tiny patties of joy that they are, and serve warm with creamcheesey icing.

Cream Cheesey Icing

1 tablespoon low fat, or fat free Cream cheese (or full-fat. Go for it.)

2 tablespoon Greek yogurt (fat content to your discretion)

1-2 teaspoons Powdered sugar (or a packet of Splenda)

1 teaspoon Orange juice

Pinch of salt

3 thoughts on “I can’t get this carrot grated….ah! Screw it! I shall kill EVERYONE!

  1. I LOVE zucchini! Not enough people love it. I’ve always been a fan of the muffin form, but the pancake sounds like an equally good if not better zucchini vessel.

    Also, this is my favorite post title yet. 🙂

    • FanTASTic zucchini breasd recipe on the way! Also, I wasn’t going to post a recipe I developed for savory zucchini cakes (like latkes), but now I feel I must, all becauseofyour inspiring love of zucchini. Lol. The title was definitely inspired by Eddie Izzard.

      ________________________________

      • 😀 😀 😀 MORE ZUCCHINI!!!! I am so excited! And I’m glad I could be inspiring! Zucchini is the real inspiration. I need to go buy some zucchinis….

Leave a Reply

