Broken Leg? Eat Cake.

Have you ever wondered what other people think? Or, rather, how other people get to the conclusion they did? I don’t.

Okay, okay. I didn’t until Ryan said something that inspired just that line of thought. When I texted him to ask what time he wanted to see a movie we had been planning on seeing all week, he responded with a negative.

A dear friend was going through heart-wrenchingly hard times, and invited him to go impair cognitive thought at Applebees that evening (the only evening we had free to see a movie). My first thought was “I must make him cupcakes.” I immediately texted his wife to confirm his favorite flavor. I’m not very good with words when it comes to consoling people. Part of that is due to my inability to form them when I’m trying to communicate on a personal level with someone (this does not, however, and uttertly weirdly, pertain to public speaking or meetings with superiors. I’m a regular spitfire in those situations). I sputter, pause awkwardly, and for uncomfortable periods of time, and end up talking about my experiences that are, in actuality, completely irrelevant to the ill the poor fool is experiencing. The other part is due to the fact that I think talk is cheap. You can say you’re sorry all you want, or that you “completely understand”. All that does is make them suspicious of your sincerity. Or they just don’t hear it. That’s how it is with me. I don’t take those words to heart. All I hear is background noise that I can see their lips moving in conjuction with.

Actions speak louder than words. True story.

When I was a wee babe, all my mother had to do when I was distraught was hold me. No cooing, no shushing, no words. She just hugged me tight and I shut up. So, that’s what I do when a friend comes to me with woes that no words can comfort. I hug them.

Or, if time allows and distance doesn’t, I make them cupcakes.

Ryan noticed my reaction and confronted me with it later that day.

“I never would have thought to do something like that…”

I shrugged.

I guess I just have a natural desire to fix things. Make people happier if it’s within my power. Even if it’s something as simple as something sweet.

So, the cake. Red Velvet was his favorite, and I just happened to have this

laying around the house.

What?

You never know when you might need a red velvet mug cake, or red velvet batter to put in stuff…or eat…by itself…

Truth be told, I had forgotten I had it until after I had baked the cake. The ingredients for which I happen to have laying around the house also. What? You never know when you might need to make a red velvet cake from scratch!

This recipe was a couple of months in the making, so of course, it’s delicious and fantastic. Moist, not crumbly, sweet, tangy and with a breath of cocoa to remind you its true origins before the red dye. Top it off with a slathering of cream cheese frosting and you’ve got yourself a bit of hand-held awesome.

Makes about 24 cupcakes. Or, 2 9″ rounds and 6 mini bundt cakes. Random, I know.

Ingredients

2 ½ cups White Lily Flour

1 ¾ cups Sugar

1 tablespoon Vinegar

1 tablespoon Cocoa

1 teaspoon Baking soda

1 ¼ cups Oil

1 bottle Red food dye

½ teaspoon Salt

1 cup Buttermilk

2 eggs

1 teaspoon Vanilla

Preheat oven to 350 degrees

1. Combine the flour, baking soda and salt.

2. In a small bowl, combine the oil, dye, vinegar and vanilla.

3. In another bowl, beat together the sugar and eggs for about a minute.

4. Add the oil mixture to the egg mixture and stir to combine.

5. Add the flour alternately with the buttermilk, beginning and ending with the flour.

6. Divide amongst the prepared baking vessels and bake for about 15 minutes, or until they pass the toothpick test.

One thought on “Broken Leg? Eat Cake.

  1. Hugs are very good comfort. I’m glad you’ve at least put some thought into how you process and offer comfort. When comforting goes bad, the culprit is usually thoughtlessness.

Leave a Reply

