I Have Prejudices I Can’t Justify: I…like Blondies.

I’ll probably just wait for it to come out on Netflix, but I figured it was appropriate.

A few days ago, I was faced with the conundrum of have one and a half bananas that were rapidly decending toward the abiss and nothing to do with one-and-a-half bananas. Banana bread seemed the obvious solution, but not many recipes call for one-and-a-half bananas. Which left me with one of two options: wizard through some mad measurement recalculations, or find some other recipe that calls for one-and-a-half–WHO WOULD EAT HALF A BANANA?!

I mean, seriously! Are you afraid that other half is going to tip you over your calorie budget for the day? Is it just too much for you delicate stomach to handle another TWO ounces of banana? I mean, mash it up and suck it through a straw if your jaw is too tired to continue eating!

*grumble*

So, instead of acting the shrink (“I’m not a psychologist, math. Solve your own problems”) I opted for plan B. Banana blondies. Why not brownies? I’m racist. And I’m not particularly fond of the combination of baked banana and chocolate. Fresh banana and chocolate I can do. If that makes me wrong, I don’t want to be right. Caramely, brown-sugary, butterscotchy and baked banana? In my pie-hole. Now.

Especially when you add peanut butter chips (mmm…fake peanut-buttery goodness. It’s like how people love the flavor of McDonalds, but when it comes to real hamburgers, just can’t seem to get on borad with the realness. It’s a chemicaly, unctious, umami jive thing.) and semi sweet chocolate chips for that bittery contrast.

Walnuts are awesome too. But I didn’t have any.

Picked this recipe up from one of my favorite blogs. The cool thing-well…not the cool thing. One of the cool things-about this recipe is how adaptable it is. Like a Buddhist monk on a rock in the middle of a brook. Look it up. You can add any crunchy, crispy, nutty, chewy, chocolately bits you’d like. Think about bacon, maple syrup and chocolate, for example. Yeah. Let that stew. You can also add-to an extent-purees and liquids, which is tricky business when you’re in the baking world.

Anywho, the recipe.

Ingredients

1 stick Butter, melted

1 cup Brown sugar

1 Egg

1 teaspoon Vanilla

1/2 teaspoon Salt*

1 cup Flour

1/2 cup mashed Banana

1/2 cup Peanut butter chips

1/2 cup Semi-sweet chocolate chips

1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees and spray an 8×8 inch pan

2. Beat butter and sugar until smooth, then add vanilla, banana and egg

3. Combine the salt, flour and chips

4. Add the dry ingredients all at once and fold to combine

5. Transfer to the pan and bake for about 20-22 minutes (I like mine a bit on the gooey side)

6. Melt some left-over canned cream cheese frosting and just pour it all over that thing. Because, you know, people just have half-used canned cream cheese frosting laying about.

2 thoughts on “I Have Prejudices I Can’t Justify: I…like Blondies.

Leave a Reply

