I Have People who Love Me. And That People is AWESOME.

I have been nominated for a Sunshine award! I don’t think you understand how much this means to me. Don’t worry. I don’t have an exhaustive list of people who have contributed to my blog, nor will I delicately sniff, while a single tear rolls elegantly down my cheek. But, I will thank the person who, at the very beginning, subscribed to Law and Sugar, and spent the time and energy to write meaningful, articulate and witty comments. She, just by doing so, has exemplified what I think an upstanding member of a sophisticated society should be. Ms. Rachel Meeks: you. Are awesome. I know I’ve said as much before, but I’d like just to reiterate…you know…in case you forgot.

The reason this is so important is comprised of a couple of factors:

1. Above all, I seek to please

2. The only awards I ever got for being me was…uuuum…a kiss on the forehead. From my mother.

I didn’t have to perform like a frilly circus bear, or take caffeine pills to stay up to study to get good grades (which I’ve never done…just saying), or kick higher than anyone in karate class. All I had to do was be my socially-awkward, food-nerdy self. And somebody liked it. That. Does, actually, make nme want to cry. Or, at the very least seek that person out, give them a gigantic box of cupcakes and a huge hug.

So. This is what I have to do to be considered for the award:

Link to the blog that nominated me: Do I Look Sick

Answer some pretty cool questions:

1. Favorite philosopher

a. Albert Einstein. Okay. I know he wasn’t really known for being a philosopher, but he had some significant non-science stuff to say. I’ll not go so far as saying it has impacted my life, but I will say that whenever I come across an Einstein quote, it brightens my day a little more than it would have been without having read it.

2. Favorite number?

a. First number that comes to mind is 5. No reason, except that it’s my birthday. 6 is pretty cool, too. It’s the number of perfect balance, and some such niftiness.

3. Favorite animal?

a. Oh jeez…I could say blue jay, because that’s what I said I wanted to be when I grow up, when I was two. But really, I think my favorites are dogs and cats. I know that’s two, but I’m attracted to the human connection aspect. Yes, it’s probably a product of human medling, but that doesn’t diminish the fact that dogs and cats form significant emotional connections with their humans. And any animal that I can seriously call “friend” is going to win out over blue jays.

4. What are your Facebook and Twitter?

a. Facebook and Twitter

5. Favorite time of day?

a. I have two: In the morning, after my workout, just before I dig into breakfast; and late night (around 10:30/11:00) with an enormous cup of tea (with cream) and a cookie or two right before I dive into my fantasy novel.

6. Favorite vacation?

a. Europe, just after I graduated high school with one of my best friends, a back pack and a map. That we didn’t get until we got to Madrid.

7. Favorite physical activity?

a. Dancing in my kitchen.

8. Favorite non-alcholic drink?

a. Honey-butter milk

9. Favorite flower?

a. Orchid? No…tea rose. No! Peony! I’m bad at this…

10. What’s my passion?

a. *shrug* Probably food. Maybe art. Well…more generally, it’s art in all of its forms.

My 10 Nominees:

1. Foodie Fiasco

2. Joy the Baker

3. Can You Stay for Dinner?

4. Hit the Ground Running

5. Culinary Adventures in the Kitchen

6. Cakespy

7. Technicolor Kitchen

8. An Edible Mosiac

9. The Tattooed Engineer

10. Smitten Kitchen

A final note: Um. All of these blogs are amazing, and are what inspired me to start up my very own. That is all.

 

3 thoughts on “I Have People who Love Me. And That People is AWESOME.

  1. D’awwww reading this made an exceptionally crappy day a lot better. I can’t wait to read these blogs! I also see some cooking in my future….that always cheers me up. Hugs to you! 🙂

Leave a Reply

