Late Acknowledgements: Thank You Flying Spaghetti Monster, for your Blessings.

I’m thankful for coffee, for sugar, for cream and sippy lids
Thankful for pinterest, for Facebook, and all that’s distracted*
Thank you, hornbooks for guiding me through
All the convoluted conniving that agencies do**

I’m thankful for Edo’s, for Andy, for Mama and Jo@
Thankful for powerpoints, for soundclips that make class more cheerful#
I love Stetson as family; as close as can be
Despite ample moil that tests sanity

I’m thankful for Obama, for forward thinking
Thankful for the people who helped with the hoping
Thank you evolution of thought and in kind
And for Murdock and Aiken and Ryan

But mostly I’m thankful for family and friends
For those who lift me, that I see an end
Also a beginning of journeys anew
And with them I know I have home and love, too

*I frequently Facebook or Pinterest, or both during class (What?! Otherwise my mind would go off on its own, and I wouldn’t want it getting lost)

**Hornbook is a law textbook with cases and such; I’m currently taking Administrative Law which teaches us how awful (and awesome) federal and state agencies can be

@Edo is a Japanese restaurant I go every Monday and Wednesday after my evening class. Andy is the coolest waiter ever, Jo is the sushi chef and Mama Tsu is the owner who gives me hugs and occasionally potato chips

#A the beginning of every class, our Environmental Law professor would play a music clip that pertained in some way the to material. One day it was My Chemical Romance.  I bet you don’t have professors that cool—but if you think you do, I challenge you to own up.

 

ONWARD!

 

Apple Rose Tart

Ingredients

5 red Apples (I used Gala), sliced thin

3 cups Apple juice (or cider)

2 cups Sugar

1 teaspoon Cinnamon

2 tablespoons Lemon juice

1/2 cup Brandy (…or whiskey)

3 more Apples, diced

3/4 cup sugar

1 more tablespoon Lemon juice

1 more teaspoon Cinnamon

1/3 cup Water

1 tablespoon Cornstarch mixed with a bit of water to make a slurry

1/4 cup groud Cinnamon Toast Crunch (yes, I know. I’m awesome.)

 

1. Bring the first round of apple juice, sugar, lemon juice, cinnamon, and the brandy (or whiskey…or rum) to a boil, and allow it to go for about 5 minutes

2. Add the sliced apples, bring back to a boil, then reduce the heat to medium low for about 30 minutes, or until apples are soft, but not mushy–remove from heat

3. Combine the second round of apples, cinnamon, lemon juice, sugar, and water in a saucepan and bring to a boil.

4. Reduce heat to medium and let it go until apples are tender (but not mushy) and some of the liquid has evaporated.

5. Add the cornstarch slurry slowly and increase heat. Boil and thicken for 5 minutes (to cook the starch), then remove from heat and add the ground cereal.

 

The Crust

2 cups Flour

1 cup Butter, cubed and cold

1/2 cup Confectioner’s sugar

1 egg

1/2 teaspoon salt

 

1. In the bowl of a food processor, throw everything in except the egg, and pulse until butter is evenly distributed, and mixture is a pale yellow (about 25 pulses)

2. Add the egg, and poke it around a bit with a knife (or a chopstick…which I seem to have an abundance of)

2. Pulse until the mixture forms a ball (about 15-20)

3. Remove, wrap (as an inch-thick disk) and chill (in the freezer) for about 15-20 minutes (or until uniformly firm)

 

Assemble

1. Preheat oven to 375 degrees

2. Roll out the dough to 1/4″ thickness and gently into an 8″ deep-dish tart or pie pan

3. Blind bake (that is, fill it full of beans [with parchment under]) for 15-20 minutes, or until slightly browned

4. Remove from the oven, remove the beans and brush the entire shell with an egg wash (1 egg + 2 tablespoons milk)

5. Throw that sucker back in the oven for another 5-7 minutes, until browned a little more, and egg wash is sheen-like. (otherwise known as “shiny”)

6. Once out, you can fill it immediately with the apple filling.

7. Oh yeah, the roses. Check it:

8. Roll them gently, using your fingers to catch the end of each slice you roll, so it doesn’t slip, and using your thumb to keep the bottom from going anywhere

9. I got 6 roses out of the apples, and they fit rather perfectly around the 8″ shell. Almost as if I’d planned it. You can call me: Lady Luck.

Leave a Reply

