Sir William’s Fudge and a Really Bad Candid Shot

beer

Back in college I thought it a wondrous idea to take a beer brewing class.  I still think it was a wondrous idea, because it was, hands down, the coolest class I’ve taken. Ever. Not that I was any good at brewing. I sucked. I don’t like beer to begin with, and I’m confident my total lack of talent in brewing hastened and deepened that dislike. Wait…why would I take a beer brewing class if I didn’t like beer in the first place, you ask?

Because it was a beer brewing class.

 

Anywho, the professor master mind behind the class is also one of the school’s main chemistry professors. I suppose he got approval for the class by asserting the unique chemical properties and reactions involved in making beer. It could also be because Stetson has awesome deans.

So, I’ve kept up with this professor via Facebook (yet another notch on the “cool stick”) and after seeing the posts about baking, he asked me to make him some (I think jokingly). I happily obliged. Because I’m a dork. A thoughtful dork…I made him beer-themed goodies. I found both recipes online and both turned out pretty awesome.

Stout Oatmeal Cookies

6 ounces your favorite Stout (or some stout that other people say is good if you don’t like beer)

¾ cups Shortening

1 cup Brown sugar

½ cup Sugar

1 Egg

1 teaspoon Vanilla

1 cup Flour

1 teaspoon Salt

½ teaspoon Baking soda

3 cups Quick-cooking oats (I used Old Fashioned oats, and although exra chewy, they didn’t hold together as I’d liked)

Various usual mix-ins (I used chocolate-covered raisins)

 

1. Preheat oven to 350 and lube up a few cookie sheets

2.  Reduce the beer to about ¼ cup

3. Cream together the shortening and sugars, then add egg, vanilla and beer, beating to incorporate after each addition

4. Add the oatmeal, then add the mix-ins…or mix in the add-ins. Whichever floats your jollies.

5. Drop the cookies on the prepared baking sheets (I used a tablespoon, but you could use a teaspoon…you may have a shorter baking time if you do so, though)

6. Bake for 12-15 minutes.

bbf4

Butter Beer Fudge (I HAVE BLED FOR THIS STUFF!! Or at least been burned…there was no blood. Sorry. I lied.)

1 ¾ cups Sugar

1 (7 oz.) jar Marshmallow fluff

¾ cup Evaporated milk

¼ cup Butter

1 ½ cups Butterscotch chips

¼ cup White chocolate chips

1 cup Chopped walnuts (or walnut halves…I think the halves are more fun)

½ teaspoon Imitation vanilla butter nut extract (totally makes the whole thing. Please. Demean yourself by purchasing artificial flavoring. It’s worth it)

½ teaspoon Rum extract

 

1. Line an 8” square pan with foil or parchment, long enough for the edges to come over the sides of the pan. Spray with non-stick spray

2. Combine the sugar, marshmallow, milk and butter in a heavy saucepan over medium-medium high heat (depending on how impatient and prepared you are to get a sugar burn)

3. Stirring constantly, bring to a boil and let it do so for 5 minutes.

bbf1

4. Remove from the heat and gradually add the chips. Slowly, grasshopper, so it all has a chance to incorporate.

5. Add the extracts and nuts and quickly transfer to the prepared pan.

6. Allow to set for an hour before refrigerating for 2.

7. Now you can cut it.

bbf3

One thought on “Sir William’s Fudge and a Really Bad Candid Shot

Leave a Reply

