Eat Like a God…a Goddess…a…divine gender-neutral entity.

Spicy Girl roll: tempura talapia, cream cheese and avocado, topped with spicy tuna

Spicy Girl roll: tempura talapia, cream cheese and avocado, topped with spicy tuna

I’m sure this problem falls into at least the “first-world problems” category; a category which I find unsavory and strive not to indulge in by complaining. But, I can’t deny that I do in fact live in the first world, and I don’t, in fact have trouble staying fed, watered and not shot. Therefore, this problem is legitimate to me, a food blogger. And that problem is…eating the food before I photograph it.

Yep. I’m proud to say that I am the most disciplined person in my family and among my friends (exercising every day, doing homework when I’d much rather by watching TVD, stopping just before I’m full)…but when it comes to diving in to delicious food—especially when I’m hungry—I can’t be bothered with waiting the extra minute to take a picture; despite the fact that I always regret it after I finish. My subconscious works against me to conveniently redirect me from my more intellectual objectives…

oh snap

Finally, I was able to master my carnal instincts and capture the object of my desire on film before I bore down on it.

Sushi.

Edo’s sushi.

Truly, the food of the Gods.

Sashimi Sunset roll: snow crab, cream cheese, daikon, lettuce, topped with tuna sashimi

Sashimi Sunset roll: snow crab, cream cheese, daikon, lettuce, topped with tuna sashimi

I say this because sushi is unattainable to me. It is beyond my terrestrial grasp of the universe…of food. I pride myself on making better-tasting food than most restaurants (at least to me), and so needn’t spend money essentially on getting my jollies off by being served. For whatever reason, I’ve never been able to duplicate what even the most rudimentary sushi joints create. The flavors, the textures, the temperatures…

Which I suppose is comforting in a way. I feel my flippant mastery of sushi would cheapen it as, truly, an art form. (See Jiro Dreams of Sushi) And I certainly don’t resent experiencing the product of a master’s study and hard work…as I sometimes do after eating a pea-sized entrée worth more than my car at certain “haute cuisine” establishments. Sushi’s real food. Real fresh food.

Bomber: jalapeno halves stuffed with spicy tuna, cream cheese and avocado-deep fried

Bomber: jalapeno halves stuffed with spicy tuna, cream cheese and avocado-deep fried

That’s another wonderful thing about sushi. By virtue of its nature, it must be fresh. Otherwise the seller would be rather…out of business. Unlike other faster foods, sushi doesn’t really allow for the injection of preservatives.

Edo’s sushi is the best sushi in my area. This is not subjective. I have tried, quite literally every sushi joint within 25 miles of my house. Best in terms of freshness, flavor, texture, creativity, balance, price…and that’s nothing to say of their cooked food and their amazing service.

These people are awesome.

I regret only that not everyone reading this post can experience the culinary ambrosia that is Edo’s. Well…maybe I don’t regret it. That way I will always have my quiet seat up at the bar.

Sweety Yummy roll: krab, asparagus, cream cheese, wrapped in snapper, baked, topped with pineapple

Sweety Yummy roll: krab, asparagus, cream cheese, wrapped in snapper, baked, topped with pineapple

Find them here

One thought on “Eat Like a God…a Goddess…a…divine gender-neutral entity.

  1. Sushi is so good for you, you’re right…but so far, I haven’t been able to eat it. Granted, I’ve probably only come in to contact with really crappy sushi. But it left it’s mark.

Leave a Reply

