AYE! Mi Dios Pesca!

trout3

PRAISED BE THE FISHING GOD WHO HATH BESTOWED SUCH BLESSINGS UPON ME!

For I am back in It’s favor.

Hm.

Let me back up. I’ve grown up among the mangroves and barnacle-crusted docks of western Florida. My dad has owned an open-fisherman for as long as I can remember and threw me on as soon as I fit into a life vest. I even got my own neon green tiny fishing pole (you know…the ones with the protected reel that looked like an egg?).

Which I used proficiently. I even baited my own line.

So it was that every time we’d take a family trip to Sannibel, (which was every time my dad could pull himself away from work), I’d participate in the daily fishing expeditions. The fishing gods that be favored me then. So much so, in fact, that I became something of a good luck charm. Every time I came, we’d bring home a big catch. When I didn’t, they’d come home sunburned, sweaty, and completely skunked. As a consequence of said gods’ favoritism, I was asked to accompany the fishing troop every. Single. Time. Which I loved-don’t get me wrong. That is, until I hit puberty.

Read: Teenage girls are possessed by demons, and thus relinquish all that they were in childhood until they turn 28.

The fishing gods disapproved.

And so began the 13-year long fishing block that came to be known as “The Dark Years of Skunk” (…well…became known by me, anyway, about 2 minutes ago)

BUT REJOICE!

For that skunkery has been lifted and I have returned to the favor of the gods!

my catch

I caught me a fish. Several, actually. One being the largest I’ve ever caught: a 24-inch “Gator” trout. (I don’t know why dad called it a gator trout, but I like it. So it stays.)

trout

I doubt many people have experience 3-hour-old fish. It’s almost sweet. It melts on the palate and has an essence of the sea in which it was caught. If cooked properly, there’s a delicate crispy crust from the slight caramelization of sugars in the flour in which it was lightly dredged (and knocked of excess) and cooked in butter.

Or coconut oil.

Both are sufficiently delicate to complement the fresh sea trout.

Coconut oil has a cleaner, more floral finish, whereas butter is…well, butter. It’s all…buttery.

Served with a massaged kale and pineapple salad, this trout is-wait for it-heavenly.

Ingredients

4 filets of White fish (the freshest you can find)

2 tablespoons Coconut oil

½ cup Flour (I used a special gravy flour, which gave it a nice crispy crust. I also find that bread flour does the same. Weird (seeing as though gravy flour has less gluten) I don’t know. Ask science.)

Salt

  • Preheat a non-stick skillet to medium high heat
  • Add the coconut oil to the pan
  • Season flour with salt (a pinch or two)
  • Dredge fish filets in the flour and knock off all excess
  • Fry the fish until the white comes up half-way (about 5 minutes)

trout2

 

  • Flip carefully and fry until cooked through (about another 5-6 minutes)

trout4

 

Leave a Reply

